Présentation

We are the people of the canal

COOP lets you come and experience the canal districts of Brussels. Here, populations, activities, buildings and the environment are transforming at a dizzying speed. Since the industrial revolution, a Brussels culture has been emerging along the canal.  A distinctive personality, a popular culture and an unexpected city are developing here. One head, two working hands, and the urge to do something! This is what’s special about those who’ve been settling in the canal districts to build a future for the last two centuries. Permanent exhibition, workshops, active walks and joint projects invite you to imitate the genius of the canal folk!

Let’s do it together! This is the COOP’s motto.

 

Porte de Ninove, 1891

 

Region

COOP is located along the canal in Anderlecht, in the heart of the industrial district which earned Belgium and Brussels the rank of fourth industrial power at the beginning of the 20th century.  COOP welcomes you in a beautifully renovated former factory. Established in 1904, the Moulard mill is a building that perfectly illustrates the industry and dynamism of the canal populations. The Fernand Demets quay, the centre of Molenbeek, the district of Cureghem and the area beyond the long curve of the canal are waiting to be discovered.

Active pedagogy, citizenship awareness and cooperation.

COOP wishes to contribute to a fair, free and fair society. This declaration finds particular resonance in the canal districts of Brussels given the social and economic difficulties of the populations. COOP allows everyone to better understand how these districts have developed, to grasp the social, economic and cultural challenges of today and to imagine the roles needed to be an active citizen of tomorrow. Experimentation with active pedagogy and practical group workshops aim to develop the spirit of cooperation and initiative among visitors. These are intended for children, school groups and associations. COOP is a tool available to associations, schools and collectives that have positive projects for the future of the canal’s districts. This co-programming and cooperative approach within the COOP ensures we have the best chance of success!

Présentation

Nous sommes le peuple du canal

COOP vous propose de venir vivre les quartiers du canal de Bruxelles. Ici, les populations, les activités, les bâtiments, l’environnement se transforment à une vitesse vertigineuse. Depuis la révolution industrielle , une culture bruxelloise est née aux bords du canal. Une personnalité propre, une culture populaire et une ville inattendue se développent ici. Une tête, deux mains pour travailler et l’envie de faire quelque chose ! C’est la richesse de ceux qui, depuis deux siècles, s’installent dans les quartiers du canal pour se construire un avenir. Exposition permanente, ateliers, promenades actives, projets collectifs vous invitent à emboîter le pas au génie du peuple du canal !

Il faut le faire ensemble ! c’est la devise du COOP

Porte de Ninove, 1891

 

Territoire

COOP s’installe au bord du canal à Anderlecht, au cœur du quartier industriel qui hissa la Belgique et Bruxelles au 4ème rang des puissances industrielles au début du 20ème siècle.  COOP vous accueille dans une ancienne usine magnifiquement rénovée. La meunerie Moulart créée en 1904 ; un bâtiment qui illustre parfaitement l’industrie et le dynamisme des populations du canal. Le quai Fernand Demets, le centre de Molenbeek, le quartier de Cureghem et par-delà la longue courbe du canal vous invitent à la découverte.

Pédagogie active, éveil à la citoyenneté et coopération.

COOP souhaite contribuer à une société équitable, libre et juste. Cette déclaration trouve un écho particulier dans les quartiers du canal de Bruxelles compte tenu des difficultés sociales et économiques des populations. COOP permet à chacun de mieux comprendre comment se sont développés ces quartiers ; quels sont les enjeux sociaux, économiques et culturels d’aujourd’hui et d’imaginer les rôles à revêtir pour être un citoyen actif dès demain. L’expérimentation de la pédagogie active et les ateliers pratiques en groupe visent à développer l’esprit de coopération et d’initiative parmi les visiteurs. Ceux-ci sont destinés aux enfants, aux publics scolaires et aux associations. COOP est un outil à disposition des associations, des écoles et des collectifs qui ont des projets positifs pour l’avenir des quartiers du canal. cette démarche de co-programmation et de coopération au sein du COOP permet de mettre toutes les chances de notre côté !